Saturday, October 30, 2004

Lifetime Service Awards to Parish and Phelan

In 2002, the Concord Band Board of Directors introduced the Lifetime Service Award, intended to honor individuals whose participation, over a significant span of time, has made a fundamental difference to the Concord Band. Each Award is expressed in the form of a brief paragraph summing up that individual's contribution. On October 30th, Concord Band Lifetime Service Awards will be given to Gene Parish and William R. Phelan.

Gene Parish
Gene Parish played tuba with the Concord Band from its first appearance at the 1959 Patriot's Day Parade until the end of 2003. In addition to his contributions as Band president, FOPAC board representative, Band historian, and musician, Gene has provided hands-on support for every Band endeavor, often accompanied by his wife Harriet, who regularly assisted with Pops and concert receptions. An active ambassador for the Band, Gene appeared in numerous publicity photos thanks to his ready smile and the huge Sousaphone wrapped around his shoulders. The Concord Band salutes Gene Parish for his many years of enthusiastic service.

Bill Phelan
The Concord Band has long been blessed with many extraordinarily dedicated members. An exemplar among them is trumpeter Bill Phelan. Bill, who joined the band in 1964, was not only a valued musician (he once studied with the cornet soloist from John Philip Sousa's band); he was also one of the few individuals to serve more than three terms on the Concord Band's Board of Directors. A gifted carpenter, Bill built stage risers for the trumpet section and helped with several other construction projects that will benefit the Band for years to come. Retiring after nearly forty years of service to the Concord Band, his quiet dedication and generosity will continue to inspire members for generations.

An Honor Roll has been created and is displayed prominently in the 51 Walden lobby to keep these individuals in our collective long-term memory.

Past Award recipients have been Bill Burdine and William Toland (2002), and Carl Getz and Robert Turkington (2003).