Saturday, October 22, 2011

Dwellers of the Western World

John Philip Sousa (1854–1932)

This three-movement suite depicts the three major races who occupied the Western World: first, American Indians; then, white settlers from Western Europe; and finally, the great energy of the African population who followed. Each are represented by music that would have been thought to be characteristic in 1910. "The White Man" music depicts the settling and building of America. It is crowned with a grand symphonic setting of Sousa's religious anthem “Oh thou American, Messiah of Nations.” The suite was composed in anticipation of Sousa's celebrated year-long 1911 round-the-world tour, and was well received in each country where the band visited. (Source: Keith Brion)

No comments:

Post a Comment