Saturday, March 3, 2012

Concertino for Brass Quintet and Symphonic Band

John Cheetham (b. 1939)

Concertino was commissioned by the faculty brass quintet at Indiana University of Pennsylvania in 2000. Classic sonata form provides the structural format for the first movement, which opens with a fanfarelike motive. The second movement is a slow five-part rondo. This short movement leads without pause to the final movement of the work, a boisterous rondo in 6/8 time. (Source: published score)

No comments:

Post a Comment